Repossession Laws for Each U.S. State

Repossession Laws for each US state

How does your state handle auto repossession?

Click on your state in the table below to see the repossession laws in that state. The government website displaying the law will open in a new tab. If you are facing repossession and would like to have an attorney file and automatic stay to stop a repossession in as little as 24 hours, call 866-964-9644 (live agent 24/7). An attorney will get on the phone immediately to walk you through the process during a free legal consultation.

Northeastern United States Repossession Laws

ConnecticutMassachusettsNew HampshireRhode Island
A 10-day notice is required before repossession in Connecticut.Creditor must send notice of default 10 days after past due payment. Borrower has 21 days to bring the payments current. After three or more notices within a year, no more are required prior to repossession.Payment must be at least 10 days past due for repossession can take place.When payment is ten days past due, creditor must send you a notice of amount due and when payment is due. The notice can be sent once every 12 months.
New JerseyNew YorkPennsylvaniaVermont
Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for New Jersey.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for New York.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for PennsylvaniaClick the heading to be redirected to the laws for Vermont.
The government site displaying the law will open in a new tab

Southern Unites States Repossession Laws

AlabamaArkansasDelawareFlorida
Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Alabama.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Arkansas.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Delaware.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Florida.
GeorgiaKentuckyLouisianaMaryland
Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Georgia.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Kentucky.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Louisiana.A lienholder may be required to send registered letter five days after repossession and hold vehicle for 15 days.
MississippiNorth CarolinaOklahomaSouth Carolina
Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Mississippi.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for North Carolina.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Oklahoma.Creditors may be required to send a Notice of Right to Cure giving you 20 days to bring the account current. This depends on the contract.
TexasTennesseeVirginiaWest Virginia
Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Texas.We do not have a link to the TN repo laws. Please click here for a free consultation with a Lawyer from TN.Payment must be at least 10 days late for repossession to occur. Creditor does not have to send notice to customer.When you are five days past due, the credit may send a notice of intent to repossess if the contract requires it.
The government site displaying the law will open in a new tab

Schedule a Free Consultation to Stop Auto Repossession or Call our Toll-Free Number 1-866-964-9644

Erase Automobile Repossession Debt
Do you need to erase repossession automobile debt because your lender is being aggressive?

Midwestern United States Repossession Laws

IllinoisIndianaIowaKansas
Can break into the vehicle to repossess but not into a locked garage or other secured area.Sheriff’s office must be notified before repossession or within two hours afterward.Must provide Notice of Right to Cure at least once a year. Can only repossess 20 days after Right to Cure notice.Must provide Notice of Right to Cure with final date and amount due.
MichiganMinnesotaMissouriNebraska
Does not require creditor to notify borrower of impending repossession.Allows repossession as short as one day past the grace period.10 days after payment is due, creditor must send Notice of Right to Cure giving customer at least 20 days to bring the account current before repossession takes place.Creditor can send Notice of Right to Cure as soon as payment is missed giving amount past due and due date. Must give customer at least 20 days to make payment.
North DakotaOhioSouth DakotaWisconsin
Repossession can occur with one missed payment.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Ohio.Depending on the contract, the creditor may be required to notify you before repossessing or selling your vehicle.Creditor must provide a Notice of Right to Cure and allow at least 15 days before repossessing the vehicle.
The government site displaying the law will open in a new tab

Western United States Repossession Laws

AlaskaArizonaCaliforniaColorado
Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Alaska.After missing one payment the lender can accelerate the loan requiring the balance in full.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for California.We do not have a link to the CO repo laws. Please click here for a free consultation with a Lawyer from CO.
HawaiiIdahoMontanaNevada
Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Hawaii.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Idaho.Court order is required to repossess a vehicle off a reservation. Can watch customer leave the reservation and repossess the vehicle from a parking lot without a court order.Payment must be at least 30 days past due before repossession can take place.
New MexicoOregonUtahWashington
Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for New Mexico.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Oregon.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Utah.Click the heading to be redirected to the laws for Washington.
Wyoming
Creditor does not have to notify customer before repossession.
The government site displaying the law will open in a new tab
automobile-debt-help

Helpful Resources:

Request a Call Back
close slider

    Request a Call Back




    Yes I agree to the following Terms & Conditions

    information CA residents click here for data rights